Appointment of Special Advisers

Thirteen special advisers have been appointed by Ministers in the new Executive.

Individual salaries have been determined by senior officials in the Department of Finance.

Special Advisers are paid within three pay-bands. The salaries reflect the role of the special adviser as set out in the Code of Conduct, as well as individuals' relevant experience and expertise.

A list of the advisers and the range within which their salary falls is set out below.

The Department of Finance will publish an Annual Report, detailing the number and costs of special advisers, in April.

Department	Name	Salary range
Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs	Dr Jodie Carson	£65-69,999
Communities	Peter Johnston*	£65-69,999
Economy	Eoin Rooney	£65-69,999
Education	Richard Bullick	£75-79,999
Finance	Dr Dara O'Hagan	£75-79,999
Health	Mark Ovens	£65-69,999
Infrastructure	Bronagh O'Kane	£55-59,999
Justice	Claire Johnson	£65-69,999
Executive Office	Stephen McGlade**	£80-84,999
Executive Office	John Loughran	£70-74,999
Executive Office	Ronan McGinley	£65-69,999
Executive Office	Alastair Ross	£80-84,999
Executive Office	Dr Ashleigh Perry	£65-69,999

The total annual salary pay bill on the current appointments will be \pounds 904,000. The average salary is \pounds 69,538.

Notes

*Peter Johnston will take up appointment shortly.

**Stephen McGlade has been appointed on a fixed term contract from 3 February to the 31 March 2024

Each departmental Minister is entitled to appoint one special adviser; the First Minister and deputy First Minister are entitled to appoint three each. The deputy First Minister may therefore choose to appoint a further special adviser.

The average salary in February 2020 was £62,750; the average salary in January 2017 was £72,681.